So You Want To Marry a Rich Guy?: Advice From The Experts

Tricia Walsh was 39 in 1999 when she married Philip Smith, 64, (see photo) the president of the Shubert Organization, the largest theater owner on Broadway. They were divorced in 2008. She posted a Youtube video complaining about their non-existent sex life (he has high blood pressure), and her “nasty evil” step-daughter. Tricia was working as a Playboy bunny when she married her first husband. She tried to break the prenuptial agreement with Smith but it was upheld by the court. He has a networth of $68 million, and she received $750,000. “I was a schmuck for believing all of his lies,” Tricia says.
Because of the charity world, I am frequently in contact with wealthy men. I have noticed that the partner with more money often sets the terms of the relationship. The less wealthy spouse often has to meet with their demands. Some women accept this and they are married to self centered husbands who do not consider their wives equals. These men own many things, and their trophy wives become part of the collection. One wife told me she felt like one of his employees.
Of course there is also a danger of being traded in for a new model. You can not generalize but I know a few examples of men who spend money to show off their status, but keep very tight controls over their wives.
Darla Jones who grew up in an exclusive section of Newport Beach observed this type of relationship. Her father was 49 and her glamorous mother was just 20 at the time of the wedding. Her mother achieved what many women desire. She married the rich guy and moved into the big house. The beautiful Darla had a front row seat: “Dad was founder and president of a large company, and mom was one of his many secretaries. Dad already had a wife 15 years younger, but dumped her for my mother. Dad was not a very nice guy and displayed poor character. . .
“At almost 50, I am in relatively good shape (Editorial Note: She is definitely telling the truth). I know rich guys no longer want me, and I’m fine with that. If my boyfriend won the lottery he would most likely dump me for a young hottie. I am ok with that too. Do I like it? Heck no! But that’s life, and I accept it.”
Wealthy IT executive Phil Suthaharan is worried about gold diggers: “Too many women expect to exchange their beauty for money. This frequently happens, but their beauty fades while my money is secure. My income has been steadily increasing from year to year, but women do not become prettier year after year. In economic terms, I am an appreciation asset, while a beautiful women is a depreciation asset. It’s not just normal depreciation, but exponential depreciation.
“If beauty is her only asset, a woman’s value declines significantly in a decade. Every Wall Street trade has a position. If a trade value drops, a broker would sell it and it is not a good idea to keep them for the long term. After encountering so many obvious gold diggers, I am beginning to look at dating as a ‘trading position’.
“It might be cruel to say this, but any asset with great depreciation value will be sold or ‘leased’. Anyone with an over $500,000 annual income is not a fool. We would only date a young beautiful woman, but  not marry her.”
Leave a Reply

