Obama is Wrong on Health Care Costs

President Obama got his facts completely wrong today. He said a surgeon gets paid $50,000 for a leg amputation when, in fact, Medicare pays a surgeon between $740 and $1,140 for a leg amputation. Three weeks ago, the President suggested that a surgeon’s decision to remove a child’s tonsils is based on the desire to make a lot of money. That remark was ill-informed and dangerous.
Dr. Thomas R. Lowry of Michigan responded to the President by saying: “I can think of no greater insult to a surgeon or physician than to accuse them of harming a patient for profit. Barack Obama’s statements did just that. The accusation that I would do harm to a child for profit disgusts me to the core, and I am deeply offended.
“I would like to remind my patients and the president of the oath I took. I swore never to do harm. I faithfully take care of my patients with their best interests in mind and to the best of my abilities. I dedicated 14 years of my life to study and train to become a surgeon. My patient records are reviewed monthly by other surgeons. I would never, ever consider operating on a patient unless I thought I could help improve his or her life, and even then only when the risks of surgery are far outweighed by the potential benefits of that surgery.”

Leave a Reply

